TrackCold

Compared · September 19, 2026

Best cold plunge tracker apps for iPhone and Apple Watch

The right app depends on whether you need a timer or a training log. A timer tells you when to get out. A tracker records water temperature, exposure time, rounds and session history, so you can see whether your practice is actually progressing. Apple Watch users should also check for a standalone watch app, Apple Health workouts, saved protocols and contrast-round support, because those are the features the listings differ on most.

Who published this: TrackCold, and TrackCold is one of the six apps below. It isn't independent, so every claim about another app is taken from that app's own App Store listing and linked, and TrackCold's limitations are listed with everyone else's. Verified September 19, 2026.

How we compared them

  • Source. Each app's US App Store listing on September 19, 2026: description, subtitle, compatibility, in-app purchase list and release notes.
  • A ✓ means the listing says so. Not that we tested it, and not that we believe it. A ✗ appears only where a listing rules a feature out — the one case here is Brisk, whose compatibility section lists no Apple Watch.
  • A — means the listing doesn't mention it. Several of these apps may do more than they advertise. Absence of a claim is not evidence of absence.
  • Prices are US prices for the listed in-app purchases, which change and vary by territory.
  • Ratings are the US store's average and count on the date above, not a quality judgement.
AppPriceApple Watch appMulti-round / contrastApple HealthStreaks or challengesSession notesCSV exportData in your iCloudRating (September 2026)
TrackColdArtyom SklyarovFree · $4.99/mo or $34.99/yr (7-day trial for new subscribers) · $149.99 lifetimeAsgardNo ratings yet
GoPolar: Cold Plunge & SaunaThe Wellness Company, Inc.Free · $6.99/mo or $39.99/yr4.7 (302)
Brisk: Cold Plunge TrackerBrisk Longevity, LLCFree · $4.99/mo or $39.99/yr4.8 (62)
Ultra Cold Plunge & Sauna LogRPA Tech, INC7-day trial, then $4.99/mo, $39.99/yr or $59.99 lifetime4.1 (48)
IceBuddy: Cold Plunge TrackerORLOV MAXIM PFAFree · Premium $6.99–$59.99 (billing periods not stated)4.6 (29)
Plunge — Official AppReboot Labs, LLC (plunge.com)Free, no in-app purchases4.7 (1,724)

✓ stated in the app's App Store listing · ✗ the listing rules it out · — not stated. US listings checked September 19, 2026; app names link to the listings used.

What each one is best at

Read these as "who should pick this", not as a ranking. These six are good at different things, and the honest answer to "which is best" is "best for what".

TrackCold

Free · $4.99/mo or $34.99/yr (7-day trial for new subscribers) · $149.99 lifetime

Best for. Practitioners who treat cold exposure as training: multi-round contrast, a standalone Watch app, water temperature and notes on every session, and a history that stays in your own iCloud.

Main limitation. iPhone and Apple Watch only, with no iPad or Android app. It launched in September 2026, so it has no ratings yet, and CSV export and the long-term analytics sit behind Asgard.

GoPolar: Cold Plunge & Sauna

Free · $6.99/mo or $39.99/yr

Best for. People logging several recovery modalities in one place. Its listing covers ice baths, saunas, red light and hyperbaric sessions, plus challenges, badges and a community feed.

Main limitation. The most expensive subscription of the group, and its listing doesn't state multi-round support. Its latest release notes say a legacy iCloud storage option was migrated out, so where data lives now isn't stated.

Brisk: Cold Plunge Tracker

Free · $4.99/mo or $39.99/yr

Best for. iPhone-only users who mainly want habit-building challenges and accolades, and who don't plunge with a watch on.

Main limitation. No Apple Watch app: its compatibility section lists iPhone, iPod touch, Mac and Vision only. It was last updated in February 2026, the oldest of the six.

Ultra Cold Plunge & Sauna Log

7-day trial, then $4.99/mo, $39.99/yr or $59.99 lifetime

Best for. Apple Watch users who want contrast routines and the strictest data position of the group: its listing says data is stored in your iCloud account rather than its servers, and its App Privacy label is Data Not Collected.

Main limitation. The listing says a subscription is required after the 7-day trial, so there is no permanent free tier, and it has the lowest rating of the six.

IceBuddy: Cold Plunge Tracker

Free · Premium $6.99–$59.99 (billing periods not stated)

Best for. Cold plunging specifically, with Apple Health sync and Strava sharing stated directly in the description, plus a streak system it calls Journey.

Main limitation. The listing describes cold plunging only, with no rounds, contrast or sauna mentioned, and it doesn't state what its three Premium prices bill for. Its description claims 4.8 stars while the US store shows 4.6.

Plunge — Official App

Free, no in-app purchases

Best for. Owners of Plunge hardware, and anyone who wants a capable tracker at no cost. It is free with no in-app purchases and has by far the most ratings of the six.

Main limitation. It is a hardware company's companion app, and its listing doesn't mention Apple Health. Its Watch app was removed in one version and returned in a later one.

When TrackCold is the wrong choice

  • You're on Android, or you want an iPad app. TrackCold is iPhone and Apple Watch only. iPads run it in compatibility mode.
  • You want a free app with no paid tier at all. Plunge's official app is free with no in-app purchases.
  • You want a social feed or a community. TrackCold has no account, so it has no feed, no friends and no leaderboard. GoPolar's listing describes a community; IceBuddy and Ultra Plunge describe Strava sharing.
  • You log many recovery modalities. TrackCold tracks cold plunges, ice baths, cold showers, natural water and the warm phases of contrast rounds — not red light, hyperbaric or general gym sessions.
  • You want ratings before you install. TrackCold launched in September 2026 and has none yet.

Where TrackCold fits

TrackCold treats cold exposure the way a running app treats mileage: as training you log, review and progress. That shows up in four places — multi-round contrast with independent cold and warm phases, a standalone Apple Watch app you can run with the phone out of reach, water temperature and notes on every session, and a history that stays in your own iCloud with no account.

If you're deciding between a timer and a log, start with the cold plunge timer page. If you alternate sauna and cold, the ice bath timer with round support covers contrast sessions. If you're new to the practice entirely, the 30-day beginner protocol is the place to start, and the safety guide covers who should not plunge at all.

Questions

What is the best cold plunge tracking app for Apple Watch?

Five of the six apps compared here have an Apple Watch app — TrackCold, GoPolar, Ultra Plunge, IceBuddy and Plunge's own companion app. Brisk has none. If you want to start and control multi-round contrast sessions from the wrist with the phone out of reach, TrackCold and Ultra Plunge are the two whose listings state both a Watch app and contrast rounds.

Is there a cold plunge app that doesn't require an account?

TrackCold requires no account: sessions live on your device and in your own private iCloud. Ultra Plunge's listing also states that data is stored in your iCloud account rather than its servers. The other listings don't state where session data lives.

Which cold plunge apps save sessions to Apple Health?

TrackCold writes every session to Apple Health as a Mind & Body workout, and it is free. IceBuddy states Apple Health sync in its description. GoPolar, Brisk and Ultra Plunge mention HealthKit in past release notes rather than their current descriptions. Plunge's listing doesn't mention Apple Health.

Do I need an app at all, or is a timer enough?

A timer is enough if you only want to know when to get out. You need a tracker once you want to answer questions a timer can't: whether your cold time is going up month over month, what water temperature you actually tolerate, and whether a protocol is working. That is the difference between timing a session and keeping a training log.

Is this comparison independent?

No. TrackCold publishes it and TrackCold is one of the six apps. That's why every cell is sourced from the other apps' own App Store listings, why the marks say what a listing states rather than what we believe, and why TrackCold's limitations are listed alongside everyone else's.

Track the cold like training.

Free to download. Asgard adds unlimited rituals, up to 20 rounds per workout, full analytics and CSV export, with a 7-day free trial for new subscribers.

More on TrackCold: Cold plunge timer · Ice bath timer · Cold plunge tracker · Apple Watch app